Texas CHL Training Courses and Information

To obtain a Texas State permit to carry a concealed handgun, the State of Texas requires a 10-hour (minimum) Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety. This course covers types and use of force, non-violent dispute resolution, gun safety and storage, along with, Texas carry laws and licensing requirements.

Renewal

A certified handgun licensee must re-certify with the State within the six month period preceding the expiration date of the license. Your initial license will expire on the fourth birthday after initial license is issued. Re-certification course is embodied in ½ of the full day course plus the shooting proficiency test.

What is involved in getting a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) to carry?

This is a two-part process that begins with reading the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws and Selected Statutes, then:

  • Part A: Apply on-line to the State of Texas at https://www.texasonline.state.tx.us/txapp/txdps/chl/

    After you pay the application fee to The State Of Texas, the state website will direct you to schedule your digital fingerprinting and passport photo appointment (the state will begin your background check). Application, fingerprints, and passport photos can be completed before or after your Certification course however must be within 12 months of taking and passing the course.

  • Part B: Take a Concealed Handgun License Certification Course which involves qualifying with a handgun at a local range and passing a test consisting of 50 questions (multiple choice and true/false). This course can be taken before or after your application however must be completed and submitted to the state within 12 months of paid application, otherwise application fee will be forfeited and the application process will start over.

Once you pass both parts A and B (including background check) and have submitted all required documents within the specified time-lines the state will issue the applicable license.

Class Fees

  • $85.00 Full One-Day Classes include Proficiency Tests
  • $75.00 Veteran
  • $55.00 Active Military
  • $55.00 Renewal

Sign-up for CHL Training